Every job at every workplace, whether it be on a factory line or a low-risk desk job, has the potential for an on-the-job injury. That is why all employees must go through compliance training or sign an agreement acknowledging workplace dangers and injuries. However, in the event that you get hurt at work, there are a few steps you can take to receive workers compensation for your workplace injury.
5 Steps to Receive Workers Compensation
Under Missouri state law, employees that sustained injuries while at work can receive benefits for medical bills and partial lost wages through their employer’s workers compensation policies. Steps toward fast and fair workers compensation include:
Report your injuries to your supervisor
It is required by law for employees to report a workplace accident that results in an injury to their supervisor within 30 days of the accident. The sooner you can report the incident the better.
Seek medical help
Delaying medical attention can worsen your condition and possibly reduce your chance of receiving medical benefits.
Have your employer file an injury report.
Ensuring that your employer electronically files a first report of injury within 30 days of the incident is crucial for the process.
Keeping records of all documents related to your workplace injury will keep you protected in the event your employer doesn’t submit your injury report on time or carry sufficient workers compensation insurance.
Hire a workers compensation attorney
Hiring an attorney can help you file your claim and ensure that you are not being taken advantage of by your employer or their insurance provider.
Experienced Workers Compensation Lawyers in Missouri
If you have been injured at work, hire the experienced workers compensation lawyers at Lanzotti & Rau to fight on your behalf. Our legal team will help you file your claim and compile documentation to help you successfully receive workers compensation benefits for your on-the-job injury.